Monday, April 20, 2015

What's been going on!







Wesley is now 4 weeks old and this month has gone by so quickly!   His sleeping has varied but it’s about 3 hours at a time, which is pretty good.  I realize that Kate is the one that is suffering the most sleep wise as I’m at work at night and when I get home she lets me sleep.  I’m sure once Kate goes back to work there will be further adjustments that will be necessary.


He’s such a handsome boy!  I love his facial expressions, yes I know they are mostly involuntary.  He has this one where he looks so concerned.  We’ve taken him a couple places he has been so good.  Kate’s friend Andrea came over the snag a couple photos and there was some really nice ones but the one above is my favorite!

In non-Wesley related news:

Canaan took 4th place at the Boy Scout’s Pinewood Derby.  Not too shabby!  We found a car design on line and had it cut out at a pack meeting.  Bob helped hallowing out the bottom to make room for the weights and he cut the head off a large bolt that made up good portion of it.  Canaan painted the car himself.  I wasn’t able to go because Wesley was being born.  But I’m hoping to watch the video that Jessica recorded of it.


Canaan also just started his second year of Gardiner Cal Ripken Minor League Baseball, he’s on the blue team coached by CJ Elliott and they have adopted the nickname the Blue Diamonds.

Addison is doing well in dance.  Her recital is on May 16th if anyone wants to go tickets are just $15, Money due by April 23rd.

The three of us took a day trip on April 14th to Marshall Point Light in Port Clyde.  It was such a beautiful day and the weather was just perfect.  It was nice walking on the rocky shore and I got some fantastic photos.  There was no one else there until it was time to leave.  So glad we went, Kate was itching to get out of the house and I was itching for a nice day drive.


We stopped for a slice of pie at Moody’s eating it in the van so as not to disturb the sleepy guy in the back.  A quick stop at Morse’s sauerkraut where we found the delicious 7 year aged Old Quebec cheese that we had on our honeymoon.  The $20 a pound price tag deterred us from buying it, but we at least know where we can get it now.   We got a pound of kraut for Kate’s mom and I got some sour mustard pickles.  Kate said it really reminded her of The Mouse Trap, a place she worked at in Kentucky.  I too was surprised what they offered inside, especially considering its location!

I recently submitted a story to Level Best Books for their annual anthology.  I also have one that I submitted last September to another anthology that I should be hearing from anytime now.  I’m not going to lie I’m getting a bit anxious having not heard from them in so long.  I’m really hoping one of these 2 stores gets accepted.

I have a new blog that I started, and I even paid the $12 to register the domain name.  It’s called the Wrestling Insomniac and it’s all about wrestling.  As you all know I love professional wrestling and I really want to be involved somehow.  Writing this blog entertains me and is fun for me.  If something comes it, then awesome, if it doesn’t then that’s cool too!  It’s been up and running since March 1st and I’ve already gotten almost 1000 views so it’s a start.  www.thewrestlinginsomniac.com
 
and perhaps you could like the page on Facebook to increase my like count.  Thanks. 

If I haven’t mentioned it yet, let me please mention that I Fat Boy Drive In opened March 19th and I had my first whoper burger of the season on the 22nd.  I’m a magnet guy as far as I like to collect magnets of places that I have been, I don’t want people buying me magnets.  That way I can look at my fridge and me reminded of the fun places I’ve been. 

Not the current sign but the basis for the magnet, I like this sign better than the current

 Anyhow Fat Boy has never had a magnet, t-shirt, hats, bottle opener (I bought one), prints, a key chain flashlight this year, but never magnets.  While standing in line for my burger I posted a photo on Instagram and while exploring the hash tag fatboy I came across people holding these cool looking magnets of the Fat Boy sign. 



So I messaged on of the people who had one and long and the short is, turns out a local artist did a painting of the sign and then made the high quality magnets out of them.  Really professional and was selling them on her etsy page for $5, sold!  So right there in line I went to her page, ordered and paid for the magnet with pay pal.  It now adorns my fridge.  If you would like your own here is the link to her page.  Here's the link to her etsy page: Fat Boy Sign Magnet

Speaking of burgers, Elevation Burger has opened an Augusta location and even though I have yet to sample there delicious burgers, I will be soon, very soon 

That’s all for now, take care!

Later Readers!
 

Saturday, March 28, 2015

Welcome Wesley!


Here's what you have all been waiting for it's the welcome to the world Wesley blog!

Kate acquired gestational hypertension which is just something that happens when you're pregnant no matter what you do.  Because of this Kate had to be induced, which is a long drawn out process that starts with the administration of an oral medicine, then cervidil which ripens everything up and to be ready for the pitocin which really gets things going.

The nurses said that back a long time ago they used to just pump the pitocin in at a high rate and they found it caused too much pain and discomfort.  Mom said that's what they did to her with Jason and it was agonizing.

In the end Kate was in labor for 31 hours but when it was time for Wesley to come out, he did in a hurry!  At 2pm she was dilated  3cm's, three horrendous hours later at 5pm she was at 9.5cm's. It was a scramble by the midwife and nurses to get everything in order because 18 minutes and 3 pushes later Wesley was with us! 

I can't say enough good about the staff and midwives at Mid-Coast Hospital.  They were all so wonderful and made the experience that much better that they were there.

It's been a week now since he was born and we've had him home since Monday.  It's been going very well, of course a few fussy moments, but all and all quite smooth.  The nights that Canaan and Addison stayed with us were great!


The kids are very happy to have a baby brother.  Addison was the most vocal leading up to his birth so excited to be a big sister.  Canaan has been playing it cool but has confided in me that he is quite excited about Wesley, and that Wesley isn't cute, he's just awesome.

I don't go back to work until Friday April 3rd so there will be another adjustment period then, but I feel it will go just as smooth as it has so far.

We haven't been able to figure out just who Wesley looks like, the general consensus is that he doesn't really look like either one of us.  We have determined though that he has my nose and the Mueller bow furrow.

At night when Kate is sleeping and I'm feeding or holding Wesley I've been catching up on Clash of the Champions on WWE Network.  Good Stuff!

video

Later Readers!

Friday, February 20, 2015

It's been a long winter so far

We’ve now had our second blizzard of 2015 and our area was spared the snow, but we did suffer the high winds and low, low temperatures.  We got about 1.5 inches of snow whereas York county and Downeast Maine were besieged with two feet of snow. 

The last two weeks were quite hectic as I was on my two weeks of 10 hour shifts, not to mention I was also working 16 days straight.  Add that to a seemingly endless number of appointments, the endless shoveling, and the fact we had the kids for the second week of my 10’s I just wasn’t getting any sleep. 

We had to go to Portland for an Ultra Sound because the tech at Mid-Coast felt that the umbilical cord might not being doing its job.  This we were told the day after being told, he looks great, he’s the right size, you are right where you should be.  So we go to Portland this past Friday for the appointment and at the end the doctor says that we never should have come down, that based on the ultra-sound we had at Mid-Coast he wouldn’t have recommended this scan. 

Kate was very pleased and felt vindicated that she knew everything was fine.  What made her the happiest is she can now say “I told you so” to her doctors.  My thought is he could have taken a look before they did this one though to save us the trip and the out of pocket expense.

Canaan finished the basketball season with his team going undefeated.  They don’t have a championship at this level of play but everyone is issued a participation medal.  I’m very proud of Canaan because he seems to have embodied my mantra of do your best, play hard, and have fun.  He does just that I am so proud of him.  He is very excited for baseball to start, thankfully that’s not until the end of March. 

Only a couple weeks until the Boston Pro Wrestling Marathon!  So looking forward to that!

Later Readers!


Monday, February 2, 2015

It's a new blog coming

Greetings,


Man I am sick of shoveling snow!  I like the winter and I don’t mind snow, but let’s space the storms out a bit more than a few days apart.  My neck and shoulders are spent from throwing all this snow.  I’m not sure what Monday’s going to bring my I’m thankful that the blizzard and Friday’s/Saturday’s storm was the fluffy blowing snow and not heavy wet snow. 

Grampa Hobart passed away on January 7th.  I think ultimately he died because he missed Grammie Connie who passed away last September. He didn’t want a funeral but my Mom flew out there to attend to everything.  Like Grammie Connie he was cremated and his ashes interned with hers in Pahrump.  I wasn’t close to Grampa Hobart because he lived out in Nevada and Arizona my whole life.  The last time I saw him was in May 2007 in Pahrump on Vacation.  I used to enjoy his visits and the time that I would be able to spend with him.  He was a very unique person with his mannerism and how he spoke and that will be how I remember him the most. 


We celebrated Canaan’s 9th birthday party with a social gathering at our place.  Mama Mueller made a wonderful Seattle Seahawks helmet cake that Canaan had requested.  He scored a big haul too with some nice presents, gift cards, and some cash! 

I am just over a month out from the Boston Pro Wrestling Marathon, a three day, two night wrestling extravaganza featuring 4 full wrestling cards, a Colt Cabana Art of Wrestling podcast recording and on Sunday a meet and greet luncheon.  So excited about this!

Just about two months out from the big day!  I’m wicked excited and a bit nervous as well. 

My brother-in-law Caleb is doing a project this year where he releases a new song every week, he’s calling it his Thing-A-Weekend, you can find more as well as the songs he released so far here;


Also tune in every Thursday Night on WRFR to hear the new weekly song as well as some other great tunes spun by Seth Meyers.

That’s all for now, later Readers!
 

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

WrestleMania XXIV revisited

WrestleMania XXIV

Rood, Jay, & I traveled south to Orlando for the 24th annual WrestleMania!

Thursday March 27th

Our adventure begins by flying from Portland to Orlando a day early to beat the rush, and I’m glad we did.  We bought packages from WWE that included 3 night hotel accommodations at the Double Tree Hotel, ticket to Hall of Fame, ticket to WrestleMania, exclusive signing, exclusive souvenirs, and a two day pass to Universal Studios which was right across the street.  We paid for an extra nights lodging because I figured most would be coming in Friday and the hotel lobby would be mobbed, and it was.

We lucked out as there was three of us we got a room with two beds and a couch, Jay took the couch, so the sleeping arrangements were set.  With nothing on the agenda we got settled into the room, had a quick dinner at TGI Friday’s then played some in the arcade.  Rood and I called it a night know the long day ahead whereas Jay decided to go to the bar, a pattern that would continue over the weekend.  Jay called the room twice from the bar to tell us there were TNA wrestlers in the bar and we needed to come down.  As it was past midnight we were all set. 

Friday March 28th

Rood and I arose early to get a start on the day.  The earliest we would be able to get out travel packages was noon.  We hit the Ponderosa for some breakfast buffet at a great price then picked up some groceries for the room at a Publix.  When we got back to the room Jay was fast asleep.  We tried to wake him so he would come down and join us in line to get the packages but he just wouldn’t budge and instead cocooned himself in the comforter to ignore us.  So I cranked the heat in the room to sweat him out.  The line had already started and as we would rather wait more before than after we too got in line about 9am.  What’s cool about this is that we are all here for the same thing Pro Wrestling so it was easy to talk to people in line and make quick friends
.

Promptly at noon the opened the doors and ushered us in to start handing out the packages, Jay never came down.  It was so exciting to finally have our tickets in hand and we ended up with fantastic seats for both the Hall of Fame and Mania.  Along with the tickets we got a generic WWE program, key chain, WrestleMania XXIV beanie buddy, small photo album, and a couple other small odds and ends.  Some cool stuff! 

We got back up to the room and were shocked to find Jay still cocooned in the blanket, but now it was sweltering in the room and you could see sweat stains coming through the blanket.  We cranked the air conditioning peeled back his blankets.  The noxious odor of sweat, booze, and pure heat radiated off of him.  He was coated with this viscous layer of sweat and his lips were discolored.  We tried shaking him a few times to no avail.  So I gave him a sternum rub to which he promptly shot up gasping for air looking around with a “what the fuck” look on his face.


It was now about 1pm and we were all hungry, and Jay was severely dehydrated I imagine.  We never told him what had happened or how we’d cranked the heat.  There is a lot of stuff that Jay probably doesn’t recall as at this time he was still drinking.  TNA Wrestling tapes at Universal Studios and as it was WrestleMania weekend they were taping Thursday, Friday, & Saturday to take advantage of all the wrestling fans in town.  I really wanted to go to the Impact Zone.  We headed over to the park and I agreed to go first standing in line as Impact was first come first serve seating, or so we thought.  Basically they gave out a bunch of VIP passes to the regulars, which I understand, and to those that were there Thursday night but couldn’t get in.  Basically after standing in line for over an hour I realized that there were so many people in the VIP section that we would either not make it in, or would have horrid seats, couple that with that fact that they doors didn’t open for another 5 – 6 hours I had no interest in standing in line any longer.  The only good thing that came from it was I got a couple cards signed by Don West and Earl Hebner as well as getting my photo taken with Earl. 

As I left and went out to search to Rood and Jay, as luck would have it Rood was heading my way with a PowerAde which I really needed as it was oppressively hot for March.   We tooled around the park with Jay riding Roller Coasters, taking in the Beetlejuice show, and other attractions.  We concluded with dinner at the ESPN Zone before heading back over to the hotel.  Once again Rood and I headed to the room while Jay headed to the bar.  When he eventually came back into the room he fell on top of me, twice, I assisted him to his couch. 

Saturday March 29th
 
Another early start for today as we wanted to get in line for our Midday Madness special meet and greet with WWE Superstars.   Jay opted not to attend this event.  After waiting in line for a few hours we were herded into another queue where you ushered into one of two rooms that had WWE Superstars in them.   Not to sound ungrateful but the next room was so much better than ours.  You went in and sat between Big Show and Mark Henry for a Polaroid photo, while waiting Coach worked the line signing autographs and taking pictures, which was cool.  The on the other side of the room you could get autographs from Melina, Ashley, Santino Marella, & Jamie Noble.  The other room has Lillian Garcia working the line, Polaroid with Edge & Chavo, and at the table I could only see Beth Phoenix and William Regal, but that was enough for me to feel  jipped!


We rounded up Jay and left for the Central Florida Fairgrounds for some UXW Pro Wrestling.  I had found this indy show searching the internet and it was perfect because it was a 1pm bell time and it advertised Jake “The Snake” Roberts (fresh out of rehab) Abdullah the Butchers, and plenty of mayhem.  Boy did it deliver the mayhem!  It was in and open air building right on the Fairgrounds and the weather was just gorgeous for it.  I snagged a photo with Jake, Abby, Big Vito, and a couple others.  They has two 6 way matches, a triple threat, and the most insane 2 out of 3 falls tag team match I have ever seen.


Here are the results;
March 29, 2008
UXW Pro Wrestling                                                        Central Florida Fairgrounds                        Orlando, FL
Mike Tobin defeated The Greatness, Naphtali, Wade Koverly, Chris Jones, & Craig Classic
Francisco Ciasto w/ Ron Neimei pinned “Lifeguard” Darren Smythe
Skull Von Crush pinned Vordell Walker to win the vacant United States Championship
Extreme Triple Threat Match: Ray Beez defeated Aaron Epic & Sideshow
Raymond Snow won a 6 way match
Jake “The Snake” Roberts pinned Kenny Kendrick with a DDT
2 out of 3 Falls Match: The Heartbreak Express: Sean & Phil Davis w/ Amy Vitale defeated Jon Davis & Bruce Santee 2 Falls to 1.  Fall 1: Double Dog Collar Match, Fall 2: I Quit Match, Fall 3: Last Man Standing.  Jon Davis required 16 staples to close a wound on his head. 
Lou Cypher pinned Jason Sorrow
Abdullah the Butcher defeated Lou Cypher
The Heartbreak Express and Jon Davis & Bruce Santee battled all over the building, used chairs, barbed wire, thumbtacks, light tubes, blood everywhere.  Jon Davis took a hard-way to the back of the head and blood just gushed, I’ve never see so much in a match ever!  I read online later that he needed 16 staples to close the wound.  Rescue showed up and he was legit taken away during the main event.    We definitely got out $20 worth!


That night was the WWE Hall Of Fame Ceremony.  We headed back to the hotel and but on our dress clothes for the prestigious event.  Here were the inductees:



March 29, 2008                                                  Amway Arena                                                   Orlando, FL
WWE Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony
Inductees:
“Nature Boy” Ric Flair by Triple H
Gordon Solie by Jim Ross accepted by The Solie Family
The Brisco Brothers: Jack & Gerry by John Bradshaw Layfield
“High Chief” Peter Maivia by The Rock accepted by Ata Johnson
“Soul Man” Rocky Johnson by The Rock
“The Great” Mae Young by Pat Paterson
Eddie Graham by “American Dream” Dusty Rhodes accepted by Mike Graham
Hosted by Jerry “The King” Lawler
Our seats were fantastic!  On the right side of the stage It was cool to see the Rock but he went too long and it cut into Ric Flair’s awesome and impassioned speech.  I feel very fortunate to have been there for it.  It had been rumored that he would be going in and it is why we came to Orlando this year.   They gave us very nice programs that featured a mini bio on all those being inducted.


After the Hall of Fame Rood and I were ready for some food and tonight was the night we planned to hit What-A-Burger because we had never been.  Jay asked me to drop him at the hotel, he didn’t want to go and he wanted to hit the bar before it closed.  I didn’t want to stop because it would have been very inconvenient because of the location of What-A-Burger in relation to the hotel.  To set it up we were on a 4 lane one way highway going west to our left is a 4 lane one way highway going east, the hotel is on our left.  To drop Jay off we would have to drive past the hotel, cross over, drive east, drop him off, drive east some more, cross over west again, drive back past the hotel then turn left down a side road that brought us to What-A-Burger get back on the highway east and stop at the hotel.  The easiest solution was to have him wait a few and drive with us to grab our food so we didn’t have to drive all kinds of extra and drive back and forth.  He started becoming cranky, demanding to be dropped at the hotel, and just generally annoying.  So with the hotel in sight to out left I stopped in the middle of the road and told him to get out.  If he wanted to go to the hotel so bad now was his chance.  Much to our surprised he jumped out of the vehicle hopped the center barrier separating the roads and froggered his way across the 4 lanes of traffic, almost getting struck in the process.
What-A-Burger was fantastic!
Rood and I decided to rib Jay and left bags, shoes, and whatever else we could along the walkway Jay would take from the door to his couch.  Sure enough when he came in the room he immediately fell down, and continued to do so, repeatedly and with running commentary the entire way.  Rood and I were trying so hard not to laugh, even in the dark I could see the shape of Rood convulsing on his bed as Jay hit the floor again yelling “this is bullshit!”  Of course in the morning we were up before Jay and had the room squared away as if the obstacle course didn’t exist.
Sunday March 30, 2009
Finally WrestleMania Sunday was upon us!  Such a fantastic day is WrestleMania Sunday!
When Jay was brushing his teeth he kept walking back and forth in the room like he was looking for something, he then told us of how last night when he came into the room he kept falling down.  We fought back the laughter.
We stopped at Hooters on the way to the Citrus Bowl and I have my first ever fried pickles, and I fell in love with them that day. 
I had pre-paid for parking and studied the map diligently in doing so to find us the best parking area and then were to park for a strategic departure.  When it was time to leave after the event we were able to get right out onto the main road, also I had learned the back way in so when we headed back to the hotel we didn’t have to deal with traffic at all.  In fact when we crossed over the interstate you could see the traffic backed up for miles!


Outside the Citrus bowl WWE had a fan access of sorts set up.  Nothing like they do today, but some minor stuff to entertain people before the Showcase of the Immortals began.  Rain threatened and it did mist a bit, but in the end it was just overcast.  I bought the official WrestleMania XXIV program that highlighted all the matches on the card.  A wonderful souvenir of the day.




Once again we had fantastic seats in the first row off the field dead center with the ring.  No complaints at all!  It’s pretty warm out, I’m dry mouth but I don’t want to leave my seat and miss anything.  It’s time for the ECW Championship Match with Chavo defending against Kane, a guy shows up selling Coke.  I HATE Coke, but I’m thirsty and as Kane’s entrance takes a long time I figure I have time to buy the stupid Coke.  As I have my head down getting money and talking to the guy I hear the bell ring and the crowd cheer and Rood laugh.  I look up and Kane is holding the ECW Championship!  The friggin’ match was over!  Kane had been hiding under the ring and won the match in seconds!  I missed it buying a stupid Coke!!!



The match we came for was the retirement match of Ric Flair.  The gimmick was that if Flair lost a match he would be forced to retire and since last November had been on quite the winning streak.  Well now he was facing Shawn Michaels and it was obvious that Flair was going to lose.  He came out in a glorious new robe reminiscent of his most famous Starrcade 83 robe.  The pyro was that of a Fourth of July Celebration.  With Mania being outside the pyro all night was something, but this was marvelous.  It was one of Flair’s finest matches in years and after 20 minutes it was crystal clear that it was time to go home.  Michaels was in the corner, is set up position for the finisher the Superkick, I was watching Flair who was getting off the canvas and as he was doing so he was already crying, which made me cry.  The fans were on their feet and Flair gave him the “c’mon you son of a bitch” and then HBK kicked him in the face for the 3 count and that was it.  Even though I knew what was going to happen it was very emotional for me.  Jay said that he was going to get a drink and be right back. 
I’m not sure how much later, it was during the next match when Rood asked where Jay was.  I checked my phone and found a text message, “I saw what I came to see, I took a cab back to the hotel.”  Really!  Come all this way to leave with 4 matches left on the card?


It was a great night of wrestling action and even though Flair didn’t stay retired you can tell he regrets coming back to wrestle in lesser matches on a tour in Australia with Hogan and for TNA, instead of going out at WrestleMania. 
It was a Superfantastic Weekend and here are the full results of the card:
March 30, 2008                                                  Citrus Bowl                                                                         Orlando, FL
WRESTLEMANIA XXIV
Dark Match
Shown live on WWE.com: Kane won a 24-man battle royal by last eliminating Mark Henry with a boot to the face at 6:23; stipulations stated the winner would earn a ECW World Title shot later in the night;
Pay-per-view
Belfast Brawl: John Bradshaw Layfield pinned Finlay w/ Hornswoggle at 8:37 with the Clothesline from Hell

Money in the Bank Ladder Match: CM Punk defeated United States Champion:  MVP, Intercontinental Champion:  Chris Jericho, WWE Tag Team Champion:  John Morrison, Shelton Benjamin, Ken Kennedy, and Carlito at 13:54 after Jericho's legs became stuck in the ladder; late in the match, Matt Hardy came out of the crowd and dropped MVP with a Twist of Fate off the top of the ladder

Batista pinned Umaga at 7:07 in an interpromotional match with a spinebuster and botched Batista Bomb

Kane pinned ECW World Champion:  Chavo Guerrero Jr. with the chokeslam to win the title in 11 seconds

Career Threatening Match: Shawn Michaels pinned “Nature Boy” Ric Flair with the superkick at 20:25

Lumberjill Match:  Women's Champion: “The Glamazon” Beth Phoenix & Melina w/ Santino Marella defeated Maria & Ashley at 5:58 when Phoenix pinned Maria with a fisherman buster after Maria became distracted by Jerry Lawler punching an interfering Santino on the floor; lumberjills for the bout included Mickie James, Jillian Hall, Layla, Cherry, Victoria, Maryse, Kelly Kelly, Katie Lea, Michelle McCool, and Eve; prior to the bout, Snoop Dogg was the special guest MC for the match
No DQ No Count-out Match: WWE Champion:  Randy Orton defeated Triple H and John Cena in a at 14:10 by pinning Cena after Triple H dropped Cena with the Pedigree and Orton kicked Triple H in the head

No Holds Barred Match: WBC Welterweight Champion:  Floyd “Money” Mayweather w/ several corner men defeated the Big Show via KO at 11:36 after landing a low blow, three chair shots to the head, and finishing by punching Show in the face with a pair of brass knucks;

The Undertaker defeated World Heavyweight Champion: Edge via submission to win the title at 23:48
Thanks for reading,
Later Readers!

The following photos are from that very bloody UXW Match: Caution they are Graphic!






Sunday, January 11, 2015

New Years Blog

Greetings and Happy New Year! 

I started the New Year, once again, watching the ball drop at work.  How did you spend yours?

I’m not going to make any New Year’s resolutions, but I am going to try to accomplish a few bucket list items this year.  The one main theme for me this year though is my goal to lose ½ pound a week.  Yes one-half pound.  I’ve tried so many diets over the years and the weight just yo-yo’s.  This slow methodical approach is working for me and I’m going to stick to it.

Recently a Facebook friend of mine that runs a Japanese wrestling group made the journey to Japan for a dream 25 day vacation.  In fact as I write this he is still there for a couple weeks.  He has been posting about all the shows he has gone to and other wrestling related adventures while he is over there.  In Japan wrestling is tremendously huge and there are several wrestling leagues.  Korakuen Hall in Tokyo averages over 20 wrestling event a month alone.  Also several wrestlers have opened restaurants and bars and he has met a who’s who of Japanese wrestling legends.  Reading daily about his adventure has made me reminiscent of my own adventures in wrestling and I have a couple big ones prior to starting this blog and I’m going to write posts about them to publish in the future. 

One of the things on my list is to attend a WWE Live Event at Madison Square Garden.  The Garden has always been the mecca of professional wrestling not only in the Northeast but around the world.  It’s a very large accomplishment to have wrestled at Madison Square Garden. I know if I ever go it’s going to be an expensive ticket, because if I do go then I want to have a good seat.  I just want to experience it once in my life. 

A few other things on the list;

Have a story published

Fire Walk

Visit every state in the United States
                I have things I want to see or do in every state as well

Go on a ghost hunt

Go on a cryptozoological adventure

There’s also a list of wrestling related items, MSG, Arena Mexico, Korakuen Hall, and a bunch more.

I might print the entire list someday. 

Here’s wishing everyone a great new year!
Later Readers!

Wednesday, December 31, 2014

The Year End Blog 2014 Style

Greetings!

It’s that time, once again, for the year in review. 

All in all 2014 was a good year;
I attended 14 wrestling events including meeting the legendary “Heartbreak Kid” Shawn Michaels and attended the Rhode Island Comic Con with John, Jay, Jonny, Jeremy & Juliana.  I was the only non-J named person in our group to attend.
John and I took in a screening of Return to Nuke ‘Em High Vol 1 at the Nickelodeon in Portland with an appearance by the man himself Lloyd Kaufman!
Kate and I had a weekend getaway to Cape Code and Rhode Island and had a fantastic day trip that took us through the heart of New Hampshire dipping into Vermont.
For our 1st Anniversary we dined at Chick-fil-A and went to the historic Boston Opera House for a phenomenal production of The Phantom of the Opera.
We took our moms to Fenway Park for a Mother’s Day excursion, sadly the Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays.
WWE launched the WWE Network….so friggin’ awesome!
I took Kate to the Cumberland County Civic Center for her 3rd Tom Petty Concert, fantastic show!
Emma and Caleb got married.
Kate got Pregnant, it’s a boy!
We moved from Randolph to Gardiner.
Addison – she started Kindergarten, participated in Gardiner Youth Cheering, and is currently take Jazz dance class.  She is very excited to become a big sister.  She has grown up a lot this year but she’s still my little girl.
Canaan – big ole 3rd grader now and still very active in sports playing baseball in the spring, football in the fall, and basketball in the Winter.  Also this year he joined the Boy Scouts and is a Bear Scout.  Canaan is finally at that good age for sports where they play full games with stricter rules and standards.  Baseball was the Minor League where kids only pitch, 3 outs, 3 strikes, and the score counts!  His team swept the playoffs and won the 2014 Gardiner Cal Ripken Minor League Championship.  Football was 3rd grade & 4th grade tackle; he was awesome on defense, not so much on offense.  There was not a championship per say that they played for.  However the participated in the BAYFUL round robin against 3 other teams and won all three of their games.  Basketball is just getting underway, they don’t keep score, but they are much stricter on the rules with active play clocks, and calling all rule violations like double dribble and traveling. 
I’m so very proud of both of the kids!

2014 brought some sadness and loss as well.  My grandfather Bump (Raymond Young) became ill over the summer and rapidly deteriorated passing away in August a month shy of 89 years old.  I will miss Bump and miss playing cribbage with him.  The next month in September saw Grammie Connie leave us.   For a while there it looked as though Grampa Hobart was going to join her, but he seems to be doing much better now.

I had made a few declarations and have been able to keep up with most of them.  The biggest one being I would lose 25 pounds this year.  I’m happy to say with diet, exercise, and the constant support of the family and friends in our Facebook weight loss group I have managed to lose those 25 pounds!
My approach was one of just taking it slow and steady, weighing up every Friday and looking for a 1 pound loss.  I cut my portions, and over all decreased the amount of food I eat.  I feel that for the first time in my life I am approaching weight loss the right way and doing it in a way where the weight is staying off even if I stray for a meal or two.   For the coming year my plan is to continue on the path that I have been on and continue to watch the scale creep down. 

One thing I have really enjoyed this year is the almost weekly movie nights with Jonny watching some of the best and worst horror movies out there, and some of the worst!  The bad titles don’t tend to stick with me, however some of good ones that were new to both of us were; Wolf Cop, As Above So Below, and Tusk has stuck with us and was quite disturbing.  That wasn’t the most disturbing film I watched this year, that was a film called “A Serbian Film” which I won’t even bother to talk about here, if you want to know about it do some research but I wouldn’t bother.
We also caught up on a lot of movies he’d never seen or heard of and vice versa.  Off all the movies in that category though the number 1 flick was me introducing him to “Monster Squad” which is basically his new favorite all time flick!
This year had some great movies in the theaters and I managed to take in a couple with my favorites being; “Captain American: Winter Soldier”, “Guardians of the Galaxy” and “Oculus”. 

2015 looks to be an exciting year ahead with some fantastic movies in Avengers & Star Wars sequels, The Boston Pro Wrestling Marathon, and of course the birth of our son!!

Take care!

Later Readers!